Spike TV Announces Prestigious Advisory Board and Nominees for 'Scream 2008'

Posted by Naybeth Díaz | Labels: | Posted On Wednesday, 10 September 2008 at 13:42

NEW YORK, Sept 10, 2008 /PRNewswire via COMTEX/ -- It will be one "dark knight" this October as Spike TV presents the third annual "SCREAM," a celebration of the best in horror, sci-fi, fantasy and comic genres. Taping on Saturday, October 18 from The Greek Theater in Los Angeles, CA "SCREAM 2008" will premiere on Spike TV Tuesday, October 21 (9:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT). Show host, presenters and musical performers to be announced shortly.

"We're incredibly honored to have the support of such luminaries in the creative community to help determine the nominees for 'SCREAM 2008,'" says Casey Patterson, senior vice president, event production for Spike TV and TV Land and executive producer of 'Scream 2008.'" "This event, dedicated to honoring the incredible talent behind these genres has been long overdue, and we look forward to bringing the fans exactly what they want to see this year with big world premieres, rare performances and the superstars that made this year a record breaker at the box office. The world domination of comic book superheroes and the explosion of science fiction, fantasy and horror movies and television shows give us a lot to celebrate this year."

This summer's mega-blockbuster "The Dark Night" tops the list with 21 nominations including The Ultimate Scream, Best Superhero, Best Villain, Best Director, Most Memorable Mutilation and Best Horror Movie, "Iron Man" came in second with 14 nominations and "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is next in line with 13 nominations. A full list of categories and nominations are included below.

Ballots were sent out to Spike TV's "SCREAM 2008" advisory board, made up of respected and well-known members of the horror, sci-fi, fantasy and comic book worlds who were responsible for advising on categories and determining nominees in each category. All films, television shows and comic books were deemed eligible for inclusion if they were released between August 11, 2007 and August 8, 2008 and were representative of the genres listed. Winners will be determined by online voting at spike.com. Esteemed members of this year's advisory board* include:

Wes Craven (writer/director "A Nightmare on Elm Street")
Neil Gaiman (writer/producer "Beowulf," "Stardust," "Mirrormask")
Geoff Johns (comic book writer, DC and Marvel, co-writer/ co-director/
co-producer "Naughty Or Nice")
Stephen King, acclaimed novelist
Tim Kring (executive producer/creator, "Heroes")
Stephenie Meyer (novelist "Twilight," "Eclipse," "Breaking Dawn")
Frank Miller (writer/producer/director "Sin City," "300," writer/producer
"The Spirit")
Eli Roth (writer/producer/director, "Hostel," "Cell, "Cabin Fever")
Kevin Smith (writer/director "Clerks," "Dogma," "Reaper")
Guillermo Del Toro (director "Hellboy 1 & 2," "Pan's Labyrinth," the
upcoming release, "The Hobbit")
Paula Wagner (partner CRUISE/WAGNER productions)

Read more here


There are 0 comments for Spike TV Announces Prestigious Advisory Board and Nominees for 'Scream 2008'